15-19 November 2021
Hosted by X-TechLab
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
Big Science and Big Goals for Africa

T2 : ePCCr / AfCA Topics

Crystallography, an interdisciplinary science for the Africa of the future.

ePCCr prizes

The winners of poster and speaker prizes, selected from participants in the ePCCr conference by a panel of judges, were announced at the conference closing ceremony. The winners are listed below.

All prize winners will receive a certificate and a USD200 prize. Thank you to all our generous sponsors.

Poster prizes

Crystal Growth & Design poster prizes

Akin Olaleru from Yaba college of Technology, Nigeria, Optimal conditions for preparation of perovskite crystals and thin film

Eddy F. Yusslee from the University Malyasia Sabah, Malaysia, Transformation of kalsilite from kaolinite via hydrothermal method

CCDC poster prizes

Tristan Theunissen from the University of Cape Town, South Africa, Silver(I) complexes with picoline derivative ligands: Synthesis, characterization, DFT and QTAIM calculation study

Hannah van Dyk from the University of the Free State, South Africa, The application of functionalized salicylidene Schiff base ligands in catalysis, luminescence, and radiopharmacy.

CrystEngComm poster prizes

Samantha Le Roux from Stellenbosch University, South Africa, Dithiadiazolyl radical co-crystal formation

Abraham Zigla Atour from theUniversity of Maroua, Cameroon,  Design, characterization and investigation of CO catalytic oxidation over Mg-modified Co3O4 catalyst

Speaker prizes

CrystEngComm speaker prizes

Cyrielle Dazem Fogou from the University of Yaounde 1, Cameroon, Topological diversity in Metal Oxalates and Structural Variability of Copper(II) oxalate anion associated with Pyridinium Derivatives Cations

Alan Eaby from Stellenbosch University, South Africa, Solvent-Mediated Elasticity in Flexible Single Crystals

ICDD speaker prize

Najlaa Hamdi from University Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah, Morocco, Crystal characterization and application of a new vanado-phosphate material


The ePCCr Conference invites submissions in these thematic areas:

  • Crystallography Databases
  • Inorganic Materials and Industrial Minerals
  • Crystal Engineering and Structural Chemistry
  • Crystallography and Life Sciences
  • Large Facilities for Emerging Countries
  • Diffraction Physics and Phase Transitions


Invited speakers

  • Dr Susan Reutzel Edens, CCDC
  • Prof Seham Abdel-Aal, Cairo University
  • Prof Neil Champness, University of Birmingham
  • Prof Bill Jones, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Emile Engel, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Dr Tendai Gadzikwa, Kansas State University
  • Prof Richard Garratt, University of São Paulo
  • Dr Eunice Nyawade, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  • Prof Bernard Omondi Owaga, University of KwaZulu-Natal


The first Pan-African Conference on Crystallography, PCCr1, was held in Dschang, Cameroon in 2016. This highly successful meeting attracted 192 participants from 32 countries, including 20 African countries.

PCCr2 followed in 2019, with over 200 participants from 35 countries. This was a joint meeting with AfLS, and was hosted in Accra, Ghana.

PCCr3, which will take place in Nairobi, Kenya, was scheduled for 2021. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, this meeting has been postponed. But we want to keep contact with the African crystallography community, even in these challenging times - thus the birth of ePCCr!

We are very excited to be able to hold this virtual meeting, which is a chance for our community to meet, discuss, and exchange ideas. Being a joint meeting with AfLS and AfPS means even more opportunities to network and learn. Please join us for this great event.