Joint Conference : African Light Source, Pan African Conference on Crystallography, and African Physical Society

Hosted by X-TechLab

Hosted by X-TechLab

by Zoom
Ahmadou Wague (African Physical; Society) , Delia Hayes (AfCA and Stellenbosch University) , Marielle AGBAHOUNGBATA (Semi City) , Thierry d'Almeida (CEA)

The time zone is controlled by you as an Indico Setting (top right). The session times will therefore be shifted if you are not set to Central Africa Time (CAT) = GMT+2.

Welcome to the 2021 joint virtual meeting of the African Light Source (AfLS), the African Physical Society (AfPS), and Pan African Conference on Crystallography (ePCCr), co-convened with several other Pan African professional science societies, all hosted by X-TechLab.  We hope that you will join us as we communicate and celebrate Big Science and Big Goals for Africa!

ePCCr prizes

The winners of poster and speaker prizes, selected from participants in the ePCCr conference by a panel of judges, were announced at the conference closing ceremony. The winners are listed below.

All prize winners will receive a certificate and a USD200 prize. Thank you to all our generous sponsors.

Poster prizes

Crystal Growth & Design poster prizes

Akin Olaleru from Yaba college of Technology, Nigeria, Optimal conditions for preparation of perovskite crystals and thin film

Eddy F. Yusslee from the University Malyasia Sabah, Malaysia, Transformation of kalsilite from kaolinite via hydrothermal method

CCDC poster prizes

Tristan Theunissen from the University of Cape Town, South Africa, Silver(I) complexes with picoline derivative ligands: Synthesis, characterization, DFT and QTAIM calculation study

Hannah van Dyk from the University of the Free State, South Africa, The application of functionalized salicylidene Schiff base ligands in catalysis, luminescence, and radiopharmacy.

CrystEngComm poster prizes

Samantha Le Roux from Stellenbosch University, South Africa, Dithiadiazolyl radical co-crystal formation

Abraham Zigla Atour from theUniversity of Maroua, Cameroon,  Design, characterization and investigation of CO catalytic oxidation over Mg-modified Co3O4 catalyst

Speaker prizes

CrystEngComm speaker prizes

Cyrielle Dazem Fogou from the University of Yaounde 1, Cameroon, Topological diversity in Metal Oxalates and Structural Variability of Copper(II) oxalate anion associated with Pyridinium Derivatives Cations

Alan Eaby from Stellenbosch University, South Africa, Solvent-Mediated Elasticity in Flexible Single Crystals

ICDD speaker prize

Najlaa Hamdi from University Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah, Morocco, Crystal characterization and application of a new vanado-phosphate material


Participating Organisations

As advanced light sources support multiple disciplines, the AfLS conference formally includes participation by the following Pan African scientific societies, which we are proud to count as supporters and partners in our vision to establish an advanced light source on the African continent.

Programme Outline

The meeting program will cover a broad range of topics in four different tracks.

Track 1 : AfLS : 14h00 - 19:00 CAT/GMT+2
Track 2 : ePCCr/AfCA : 09h00 - 17:00 CAT/GMT+2
Track 3 : AfPS : 09h00 - 19:00 CAT/GMT+2
Track 4 : Co-Convenors : 09h00 - 19:00 CAT/GMT+2




The format of this exciting virtual meeting will allow attendees to take full advantage of the overlap between the different participating organizations. All registrants will be able to attend sessions in any track with a single registration.

Contributed oral presentations and posters are welcome. Please identify the track of your participation at the registration and abstract submission phases. 

Registrants will be sent the Zoom room links shortly before the conference. Each track will have its own Room within the same Zoom Session. All sessions will be lived streamed to YouTube.

The programme details, as they are updated, are available in the Timetable link on the left-hand menu.

Students and Early Career Scientists Welcome

There is a limited amount of financial support for students and early-career professionals for online data packages for the conference.  Applicants must first fully register and then apply using the link in the left panel.



The Joint Organizing Committee of this meeting observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to factors such as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.

No barriers, which would prevent the participation of bona fide scientists, will exist at this meeting.