2-5 May 2017
Florida Science Campus (UNISA)
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
The symposium is in memory of the late Prof. SA Sofianos, a distinguished Physicist who served UNISA and the Few-body Physics community all his life.
The Department of Physics of the University of South Africa is organizing a symposium on International symposium on New Developments in Methods and Applications of Few-body Physics: in Memory of Professor SA Sofianos.
Florida Science Campus (UNISA)
University of South Africa Florida Science Campus c/o Christiaan de Wet Road and Pioneer Avenue Florida Park, Roodepoort
The symposium will showcase invited and contributed talks as well as a poster session on the following themes:
  • Atomic and molecular physics, including Bose-Einstein condensation
  • Structure and reactions of light nuclei
  • Few-nucleon systems and interactions
  • Exotic nuclear systems
  • Methods in few-body physics
  • Inverse scattering
The plenary sessions are for invited lectures on topics of interest to the few-body physics community while parallel sessions will be for contributed talks.

The names of the invited speakers will be announced in the second circular.

Registration Fee
  • Delegate Registration Fee R1300 to cover fee will cover accommodation, lunches, refreshments during coffee breaks, a symposium kit and banquet.
  • South African MSc and PhD students are eligible for registration fee waiver, however, proof of current registration with a South African university is required
  • The fee for an accompanying person is R1300, excluding accommodation.
Important dates
  • Abstract submission opens: December 01, 2016
  • Abstract submission closes: March 24, 2017
  • Notification of abstract acceptance: March 30, 2017
  • Registration closes: March 31, 2017
  • Submission of contributions closes: June 30, 2017

Local Organizing Committee
  • ML Lekala (UNISA)  (Chair)
  • GJ Rampho (UNISA)
  • RM Adam (SKA)
  • SA Rakitianski (UP)
  • B Mukeru (UNISA)
LOC Contact E-mail  : ramphjg@unisa.ac.za

International Advisory Committee
  • J-M Richard, Villeurbanne (France)
  • W Plessas, (Austria)
  • TK Das (India)
  • W Sandhas (Germany)
  • M Braun (South Africa)
  • E Uzu (Japan)
  • VV Voronov (Russia)
  • S Karataglis (South Africa)
  • H Masui (Japan)
  • L Blokhintsev (Russia)
  • VA Roudnev (Russia)
  • S Levin (Russia)
  • DG Papageorgiou (Greece)
  • B Bakker (Netherlands)
  • N Kalantar-Nayestanaki (Netherlands)
  • R Lazauskas (France)
  • M Fabre de la Ripelle (France)
  • M Lassaut (France)
  • A Deltuva (Lithuania)
  • M Viviani (Italy)
  • A Kievesky (Italy)
  • R Kezerashvili (USA)
  • A Aprahamian (USA)