7-11 July 2014
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
<a href="http://events.saip.org.za/internalPage.py?pageId=16&confId=34"><font color=#0000ff>SAIP2014 Proceedings published on 17 April 2015</font></a>

Laser spectroscopy studies of the recrystallization of an amorphous layer in GaAs produced by argon ion implantation at ~77 K

8 Jul 2014, 11:50
D Les 201

D Les 201

Oral Presentation Track A - Division for Physics of Condensed Matter and Materials DPCMM1


Mr Kudakwashe Jakata (University of the Witwatersrand)

Level for award<br>&nbsp;(Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD)?


Apply to be<br> considered for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)?


Abstract content <br> &nbsp; (Max 300 words)<br><a href="http://events.saip.org.za/getFile.py/access?resId=0&materialId=0&confId=34" target="_blank">Formatting &<br>Special chars</a>

Recrystallization of an amorphous layer of GaAs on a crystalline GaAs substrate formed by argon-ion bombardment at 100 keV has been investigated using surface Brillouin scattering and Raman spectroscopy. Two samples were implanted at doses of 1×1015 ions/cm2 and at 2×1014 ions/cm2, both at a temperature of ~77 K. Surface Brillouin scattering (SBS) and Raman scattering have been used to study the isochronal annealing of these two samples. It has been found that the stiffening of the elastic constants as measured with SBS begins at around 120 oC and reaches a maximum at 260 oC for both samples. Using the Raman technique, it has been observed that the recrystallization of the higher dose implanted sample occurs at around 260 oC compared to 240 oC for the 2×1014 ions/cm2 implant. These measurements are compared to previous results obtained on implantations at temperatures of ~ 65oC.

Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)?


Main supervisor (name and email)<br>and his / her institution

Darrell Comins
University of the Witwatersrand

Primary author

Mr Kudakwashe Jakata (University of the Witwatersrand)


Dr Daniel Wamwangi (University of the Witwatersrand) Prof. Darrell Comins (University of the Witwatersrand) Mr Rudolph Erasmus (University of the Witwatersrand) Dr Shungamun Ramsammy Naidoo (University of the Witwatersrand)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.