7-11 July 2014
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
<a href="http://events.saip.org.za/internalPage.py?pageId=16&confId=34"><font color=#0000ff>SAIP2014 Proceedings published on 17 April 2015</font></a>

Synthesis and characterization of CdO-Carbon nanostructures hybrid for LPG sensing

8 Jul 2014, 17:10
1h 50m
D Ring ground level

D Ring ground level

Board: A.399
Poster Presentation Track A - Division for Physics of Condensed Matter and Materials Poster1


Mr Amanda Sefage (University of Zululand)

Apply to be<br> considered for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)?


Abstract content <br> &nbsp; (Max 300 words)<br><a href="http://events.saip.org.za/getFile.py/access?resId=0&materialId=0&confId=34" target="_blank">Formatting &<br>Special chars</a>

In this research work Cadmium oxide (CdO) nanorods were synthesised by chemical bath deposition on a CdO film deposited via DC sputtering deposition on a silicon substrate. The produced nanorods were characterized by scanning electron microscope (SEM), Atomic force microscope (AFM), X-ray diffraction (XRD), Rutherford backscattering spectrometry (RBS) etc. CdO-Carbon nanostructures hybrids were grown by acetylene chemical vapour deposition on the nanorods at different temperatures with the CdO rods as the catalyst for the carbon nanostructures growth. For comparison a thin film of Fe was deposited to act as the catalyst for the carbon nanostructures growth.
The different structures grown using the two different catalysts were exposed to LPG and Nitrogen gases while monitoring the change in the sensors electrical resistances. The electrical responses of the sensors to LPG gas were investigated at different operating temperatures and different gas concentrations.

Level for award<br>&nbsp;(Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD)?


Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)?


Main supervisor (name and email)<br>and his / her institution

Prof. Muzi Ndwandwe, muzi.ndwandwe@gmail.com, University of Zululand

Primary author

Mr Amanda Sefage (University of Zululand)


Mr Charles Thethwayo (University of Zululand) Dr D Dhonge (CSIR) Prof. Muzi Ndwandwe (University of Zululand) Dr Puleng Mbuyisa (University of Zululand) Mr Thembinkosi Nyawo (University of Zululand)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.