7-11 July 2014
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
<a href="http://events.saip.org.za/internalPage.py?pageId=16&confId=34"><font color=#0000ff>SAIP2014 Proceedings published on 17 April 2015</font></a>

Investigation of plasma dynamics effect on the properties of the vanadium oxide thin films

10 Jul 2014, 10:00
D Les 201

D Les 201

Oral Presentation Track A - Division for Physics of Condensed Matter and Materials DPCMM1


Ms Bathusile Masina (CSIR, University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Apply to be<br> considered for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)?


Level for award<br>&nbsp;(Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD)?


Abstract content <br> &nbsp; (Max 300 words)<br><a href="http://events.saip.org.za/getFile.py/access?resId=0&materialId=0&confId=34" target="_blank">Formatting &<br>Special chars</a>

This study presents the influence of the plume expansion dynamics on the properties of the vanadium oxide thin films. The plume expansion dynamics study have been carried out on vanadium-oxygen plasma generated using 248 nm, 25 ns pulses from an excimer KrF laser under oxygen atmosphere at the laser fluence of 2 Jcm-2 using VO2 pellet. Vanadium oxide thin films have been deposited on a corning glass substrate by ablating a VO2 pellet at the same conditions of oxygen pressure and laser fluence used for the plasma study. The substrate temperature was fixed at 500 oC and target-substrate distance was determined using the plasma plume results. We successfully deposited pure monoclinic rutile-typed VO2 (M) phase at 0.05 mbar for 30 mm and 0.01 mbar for 30 and 38 mm. A pure orthorhombic V2O5 phase was successfully deposited at 0.1 mbar of 27 and 34 mm. A mixture of vanadium oxide phases was found at 0.2 mbar for 29 mm and at 0.05 mbar for 35 mm. Scanning electron microscopy and atomic force microscopy indicated nanostructures for the monoclinic rutile-typed VO2 (M) phase and nano-wire and nano-plate for the V2O5 phase.

Main supervisor (name and email)<br>and his / her institution

Prof. Andrew Forbes (AForbes1@csir.co.za)
CSIR National Laser Centre and Univerisity of Kwazulu-Natal

Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)?


Primary author

Ms Bathusile Masina (CSIR, University of KwaZulu-Natal)


Prof. Andrew Forbes (CSIR) Dr Lorinda Wu (CSIR) Dr Samira Abdelli-Messaci (Centre de Developpment des Technologies Avanciees) Mr Slimane Lafane (Centre de Developpment des Technologies Avanciees Cite) Dr Tahar Kerdja (Centre de Developpment des Technologies Avanciees Cite)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.