7-11 July 2014
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
<a href="http://events.saip.org.za/internalPage.py?pageId=16&confId=34"><font color=#0000ff>SAIP2014 Proceedings published on 17 April 2015</font></a>

Optical, ESR and surface state XPS investigation in 0D ZnO nanostructures doped with rare earth ions

8 Jul 2014, 17:10
1h 50m
D Ring ground level

D Ring ground level

Board: A.401
Poster Presentation Track A - Division for Physics of Condensed Matter and Materials Poster1


Mr Guy Leba Kabongo (UNISA)

Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)?


Abstract content <br> &nbsp; (Max 300 words)<br><a href="http://events.saip.org.za/getFile.py/access?resId=0&materialId=0&confId=34" target="_blank">Formatting &<br>Special chars</a>

We report on the (micro)-structural, optical, morphological, surface state and magnetic characteristics of un-doped and rare earth (RE) doped zinc oxide (ZnO) 0-dimension (0D) semiconductor nanostructures, which were successfully synthesized via a facile sol-gel process. The optical investigation of as-synthesized samples as revealed by optical absorption spectroscopy showed a blue shift of the absorption band-edge as compared to the bulk material, which could be an effective indication of quantum confinement effect. From the transmission electron microscopy (TEM) results, it was observed a morphological change as the dopant concentration was increased probably due to the Ostwald ripening effect; furthermore, the highly crystalline nature of the synthesized 0D nanostructures was confirmed. Finally, defects state in the semiconductor nanostructures was studied using photoluminescence (PL) spectroscopy, x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) and Electron Spin resonance (ESR).

Main supervisor (name and email)<br>and his / her institution

Mokhotjwa Simon Dhalamini,dhlamini@unisa.ac.za,UNISA

Apply to be<br> considered for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)?


Level for award<br>&nbsp;(Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD)?


Primary author


Prof. Bakang Moses Mothudi (University of South Africa) Dr Gugu Mhlongo (CSIR) Prof. Hendrik Swart (University of the Free State) Prof. Mokhotjwa Simon Dhlamini (University of South Africa) Prof. Thembela Hillie (CSIR)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.