8-12 July 2013
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
<a href="http://events.saip.org.za/internalPage.py?pageId=13&confId=32"><font color=#ff0000>SAIP2013 PROCEEDINGS AVAILABLE</font></a>

Efficient sorting of Bessel beams

9 Jul 2013, 11:30
Oral Presentation Track C - Photonics Photonics


Ms Thandeka Mhlanga (CSIR National Laser Centre)

Abstract content <br> &nbsp; (Max 300 words)

High order Bessel beams are characterized by the azimuthal mode index, ℓ and radial component, kr, as a result they carry orbital angular momentum (OAM) and their far-field forms an annular ring of radius, R .These beams form in a region where parallel plane waves interfere in a conical manner. A method of separating the azimuthal, ℓ and radial, kr components of the Bessel Beams using cylindrical lenses [1] and an efficient orbital angular momentum (OAM) sorter [2] optical system is illustrated here. A conformal mapping technique [2] was used to achieve the sorting of Bessel beams, where the annular ring (Fourier transform of a Bessel beam) was mapped to a linear phase variation along the horizontal direction. A series of cylindrical lenses simultaneously Fourier transformed the transverse momentum states and imaged the unraveled annular ring to a detector plane, where the position of the detected spot is dependent on the amount of OAM it carries and its radial wave vector.

[1] A. Dudlely, T. Mhlanga, M. Lavery, A. Mcdonald, F. Roux, M. Padgett, A. Forbes, “Efficient sorting of Bessel beams,”Opt.Express 21(1), 165-171, (2013)
[2]Gregorius C. G. Berkhout, Martin P. J. Lavery, Marco W. Beijersbergen, Miles J. Padgett, “Efficient sorting of angular momentum of light,” *PhysRevLett.105 (16).153601 (2010)

Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)?


Level for award<br>&nbsp;(Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD)?


Main supervisor (name and email)<br>and his / her institution

A. Forbes, AForbes@csir.co.za, CSIR National Laser Centre, PO Box 395, Pretoria 0001, South Africa

Apply to be<br> considered for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)?


Primary author

Ms Thandeka Mhlanga (CSIR National Laser Centre)


Prof. Andrew Forbes (CSIR National Laser Centre, UKZN) Dr Angela Dudley (CSIR National Laser Centre) Mr Martin Lavery (Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow) Prof. Miles Padgett (Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow) Dr Stef Roux (CSIR National Laser Centre)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.