12-15 July 2011
Saint George Hotel
Africa/Johannesburg timezone

Fine structure of the Isoscalar Giant Quadrupole Resonance and 2<sup>+</sup> level densities in spherical to deformed nuclei across the isotope chain <sup>142,144,146,148,150</sup>Nd using the (p,p') reaction

15 Jul 2011, 08:45


Oral Presentation Track B - Nuclear, Particle and Radiation Physics NPRP


Mr Chamunorwa Oscar Kureba (University of the Witwatersrand)


A systematic experimental investigation of the phenomenon of fine structure, with emphasis on the region of the Isoscalar Giant Quadrupole Resonance (ISGQR), in nuclei across stable even-even neodymium isotopes has been performed. Measurements were made using the K600 Magnetic Spectrometer of iThemba Laboratory for Accelerator Based Sciences, a facility which is situated at Faure near Cape Town, South Africa. Unique high energy-resolution inelastic proton scattering experiments were performed at an incident proton energy of Ep = 200 MeV on targets 142,144,146,148,150Nd. Nuclei with mass number A ≈ 150 and neutron number N ≈ 90 are of special interest since they occupy that region of the nuclide chart wherein the onset of permanent prolate deformation occurs. The stable neodymium (Z = 60) isotopes have been chosen in the present study, in order to investigate the effects accompanying the onset of deformation, on the excitation energy spectra in the ISGQR region (10 ≤ Ex ≤ 25 MeV), since they extend from the semi-magic N = 82 nucleus (142Nd) to the permanently deformed N = 90 (150Nd) nucleus. An important further step is to test the effect that the transition from spherical to deformed nuclei has on level densities. Experimental details, data extraction and analysis techniques, together with preliminary results will be presented.

Level (Hons, MSc, <br> &nbsp; PhD, other)? PhD
Would you like to <br> submit a short paper <br> for the Conference <br> Proceedings (Yes / No)? Yes
Consider for a student <br> &nbsp; award (Yes / No)? Yes

Primary author

Mr Chamunorwa Oscar Kureba (University of the Witwatersrand)


Mr Andreas Krugmann (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany) Ms Anna-maria Heilman (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany) Prof. Atsushi Tamii (ReseOsaka University, Japan) Dr Deon Steyn (iThemba LABS) Dr Dirk Fourie (iThemba LABS) Prof. Elias Sideras-Haddad (University of the Witwatersrand) Dr Frederick Smit (iThemba LABS) Dr Iyabo Usman (iThemba LABS) Mr Jacobus Swartz (University of Stellenbosch) Mr Joel Mira (iThemba LABS) Prof. John Carter (University of the Witwatersrand) Dr Justin Mabiala (University of Stellenbosch) Dr Lowry Conradie (iThemba LABS) Mr Maxwell Jingo (University of the Witwatersrand) Dr Paul Papka (iThemba LABS) Prof. Peter von Neumann-Cosel (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany) Dr Retief Neveling (iThemba LABS) Dr Richard Newman (iThemba LABS) Prof. Roger Fearick (University of Cape Town) Dr Sean Murray (iThemba LABS) Dr Siegfried Förtsch (iThemba LABS) Dr Zinhle Buthelezi (iThemba LABS)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.