

Contribution ID: 139

Type: Poster Presentation

Diblock copolymers as templates for semiconductor nanostructure fabrication

Tuesday, 10 July 2012 17:30 (2 hours)

Abstract content
 (Max 300 words)

The self assembly of diblock copolymers (DbC) has received much attention due to its potential for producing nanostructure fabrication masks with features on a scale less than 22 nm [1]. This allows for the fabrication of semiconductor nanostructures beyond what is currently possible.

The precise and repeatable control of these DbC nanostructure masks is a great challenge due to the many variables involved in creating the required morphologies. In this paper the conditions required to obtain perpendicular orientated lamellae in a thin film of the diblock copolymer polystyrene-b-poly(methyl-methacrylate) (PS-b-PMMA) on a Si substrate, using a solvent evaporation technique, have been investigated. It is demonstrated that with the correct film thickness on a deoxidized Si substrate and appropriate annealing conditions in vacuum, perpendicular lamella can be produced in the thin film. However the uniformity across the substrate (±1cm²) is unsatisfactory, with differing morphologies present. Experiments on the neutralization of the silicon surface using a random (r) diblock copolymer of the same constituent monomers, i.e. PS-r-PMMA, and the use of multiple spin coatings, in order to improve the morphology of the diblock film will also be reported.

[1] A. Andreozzi, E. Poliani, G. Seguini, M. Perego, Nanotechnology 22 (2011) 185304

Apply to be
 consider for a student
 award (Yes / No)?

Yes

Level for award
%nbsp;(Hons, MSc,
 PhD)?

Hons

Main supervisor (name and email)
and his / her institution

Prof J R, Botha(Reinhardt.Botha@nmmu.ac.za; Department of Physics,Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth

Would you like to
 submit a short paper
 for the Conference
 Proceedings (Yes / No)?

No

Primary author: Mr DOBSON, Stephen (Department of Physics, P.O Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth 6031, South Africa)

Co-authors: Prof. NEETHLING, J.H. (Department of Physics, P.O Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth 6031, South Africa); Prof. BOTHA, J.R. (Department of Physics, P.O Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth 6031, South Africa); Mr URGESSA, Z.N. (Department of Physics, P.O Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth 6031, South Africa); South Africa)

Presenter: Mr DOBSON, Stephen (Department of Physics, P.O Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth 6031, South Africa)

Session Classification: Poster Session

Track Classification: Track A - Division for Condensed Matter Physics and Materials