3-7 July 2017
Kramer Law building
Africa/Johannesburg timezone
Paper Review: Initial screening in progress
THE 61st ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE SA INSTITUTE OF PHYSICS
JOINTLY HOSTED BY
THE DEPARTMENTS OF ASTRONOMY AND PHYSICS,
UNIVERSITY OF CAPE TOWN
Starts 3 Jul 2017 08:00
Ends 7 Jul 2017 18:00
Africa/Johannesburg
Kramer Law building
UCT Middle Campus Cape Town

The Department of Physics and the Department of Astronomy of the
University of Cape Town will jointly host SAIP2016.
 
The conference will run from 5-8 July 2016 and will be preceded on 4
July by a Winter School on the theme The Physics of the Early and the
Late Universe.
 
The venue for the conference will be the Kramer Law Building, Middle
Campus, University of Cape Town.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: ALL PAYMENTS FOR REGISTRATION FEES MAY STILL BE SETTLED BEFORE THE CONFERENCE STARTS!! (4 JULY 2016)
 
IMPORTANT DATES
  • 1 December (2015) - First announcement and Call for Abstracts
  • 1 February - Second announcement
  • 1 February - Abstract Submission opens
  • February - Registration opens
  • 11 April - Abstract submission closes
  • 3 May - Early registration closes and payments are due! - (Has been extended to 20 May 2016!)
  • 6 May - Abstract Acceptance or Rejection notices
  • 6 May to 20 May - Abstract acceptance and rejection notices sent out
  • 6 May - Paper submission opens
  • (Please Note: You may submit your paper once you have received an Abstract Acceptance Letter!)
  • 10 June - Registration closes
  • 10 June - Registration Fees payment, Booking and Payment of Accommodation fees closes
  • 4 July - Paper submission closes
  • DEADLINE FOR PAPER SUBMISSIONS IS EXTENDED TO 15 July 2016 @ 8:00am SAST
  • 4 July - Winter School
  • 4 July - Welcome Reception (Kramer Building)
  • 5-8 July - Main Conference (Kramer building)
  • 7 July - Conference Dinner (Jammieson Hall, Upper Campus)
  • 26 September - Deadline for revised paper submissions
  • NB: Please note that ALL DEADLINES are final and no extensions will be given under any circumstances!
SAIP Main Conference Registration Fees:
NOTE - Early-bird registration is valid only until the 3rd of May!! All Early registration fees need to be paid by this date; registrants that fail to do so will have their registration type changed to Late(Normal) registration at the going rate for late registration.
  • SAIP Member - R 4,400 [Early] / R 4,950 [Late]
  • SAIP Non-Member - R 5,200 [Early] / R 5,750 [Late]
  • Student Member - R 3,050 [Early] / R 3,600 [Late]
  • Student Non-Member - R 3,500 [Early] / R 4,000 [Late]
  • Additional Trade Full Registration - R 2,500
  • Teachers Registration - Free of charge. Only 50 places are available!
  • Day Registration - 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 July R 2 000 per day
CONFERENCE COMMITTEE
  • Roger Fearick (roger.fearick@uct.ac.za)    Chair of the LOC
  • Andy Buffler (andy.buffler@uct.ac.za)      Scientific Programme
  • Patrick Woudt (patrick.woudt@uct.ac.za) Scientific Programme
  • Ange Bukasa (ange.bukasa@uct.ac.za)   Conference Management Centre: Registration, Venues, General admin.
  • Steve Peterson (steve.peterson@uct.ac.za) Proceedings
  • Sahal Yacoob (sahal.yacoob@uct.ac.za) Scientific Programme and Proceedings
  • Gregor Leigh (gregor.leigh@uct.ac.za) Publicity
  • Brian Masara, Deena Naidoo (brian.masara@saip.org.za) SAIP Organisers